Sunrise1

It’s a new day, a new year, a new page, a new chapter, a new book. However you want to look at it, it’s new, it’s a start and it’s a fresh beginning.

The Bible says that God’s mercies are new every morning (Lamentations 3:22-23).  So whatever’s gone on before, His love for us begins afresh everyday. You know what?  We are to look at ourselves as God looks at us. I guess if He can look at us afresh everyday, then surely we can look at ourselves afresh everyday, or in this case, at the beginning of a new year too.  We won’t forget all that has been but at the same time, we can’t be looking in the rear-vision mirror all the time. We can and we will look forward to the road that is ahead. I’m sure it will have its unexpected twists, turns and challenges as 2015 did (for me anyway!) but we can look ahead to the positives that do lie ahead.

It can be hard to not be fearful of what challenges may lie ahead.  Twelve months ago I had no idea what kind of a year I was in for.  All I’d hoped at the start was that after a year of seemingly constant sickness, that we would have a better year health-wise for my two sons.  That we did, but instead it was my turn!  I may write about that at a much later time as it was a very personal journey.  However, we don’t need to fear – as the saying goes, “I don’t know what the future holds, but I know Who holds the future.”

The Senior Pastor of the church my family visited on Sunday 3 January, 2016, spoke about ‘Living Your Dream’.  He spoke about what steps we can take to start living out our dreams.  One of my dreams is to be a ‘voice for the Kingdom’.  What is one of the ways I can do that?  It is to write.  I’ve wanted to write a blog for awhile but I’ve been afraid to start.  I didn’t know how and I didn’t know where to start.  One of the things he said to do was to start.  Start by asking ourselves what can we do today to take the first step?

I had already set up this blog page months ago and the only next step was to make a start.  So here is this step.  It’s a start.  What’s my goal with this?  I plan to be a voice who shares things about God and His Kingdom. I will do that through writing about things in my life and on my heart – music, things for/about Pastor’s Kids, who we are in Christ, the Christian life, my experiences as a parent and who knows what else!  I want to encourage and I want to point people to Jesus.

As 2016 unfolds, just like God’s mercies are new everyday, let us look at ourselves afresh the way God sees us.  Let us not focus on the past, not looking in our rear-vision mirrors all the time but let us look forward and press on into our God-dreams this coming year. Let us choose to put ourselves, our families (immediate and extended) in the hands of the One who knows all, sees all and who is in all.  He is forever, He is the Great I Am.

Leave a Reply

